You are here: Home / About us

About us

Department of Computer science

The Department of Computer Science conducts research at a high international level and provides academic education in the fields of informatics, computer science, artificial intelligence, mathematical engineering, and digital humanities.

Researchers at our department are distributed in four research units and are divided into seven research groups. They study methods and develop tools to master the ever-increasing complexity of designing, implementing and maintaining reliable software systems, including numerical computations.

With more than 150 PhD students, 700 master students and 100 staff members, including 30 professors, Computer Science is a strong international research and education department.


Departmental chair

Prof. Stefan Vandewalle


Departmental manager

Inge Vandenborne


Contact and address

Department of Computer Science
Celestijnenlaan 200 A bus 2402

call  +32 16 32 77 00
local_printshop  +32 16 32 79 96
mail   e-mail
group   organisational chart
directions   detailed directions
accessible_forward  KU Leuven Access Guide

The reception is open Monday to Friday from 8h-12h and 12h30-17h.